Burna Boy, Rema, Asake lose out at 2024


Burna Boy, Rema, Asake lose out at 2024 Brit Awards [Full list of winners]

Burna Boy, Rema, Asake lose out at 2024 Brit Awards [Full list of winners]
Burna Boy, Asake, and Rema failed to win an award at the 2024 Brit Awards, UK’s most prestigious music awards ceremony.

The 2024 Brit Awards was held at London’s 02 Arena on Saturday, March 2, 2024.

Burna Boy and Asake were nominated for Best International Act of the Year, but lost to American artist SZA.

Rema’s ‘Calm Down’ also lost the Best International Song of the Year award to Miley Cyrus’ ‘Flowers.’

Despite the loss, Rema concluded the ceremony with an exhilarating performance of his hit song, ‘Calm Down.’

He became only the second African artiste to perform at the BRIT Awards, following Burna Boy’s performance in 2019.

Brit awards 2024 – full list of winners

British album of the year
Blur – The Ballad of Darren
J Hus – Beautiful and Brutal Yard
Little Simz – No Thank You
Raye – My 21st Century Blues – WINNER!
Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy

British artist of the year
Arlo Parks
Central Cee
Dua Lipa
Fred Again
J Hus
Jessie Ware
Little Simz
Olivia Dean
Raye – WINNER!

British group
Chase & Status
Headie One & K-Trap
Jungle – WINNER!
Young Fathers

New artist
Olivia Dean
Raye – WINNER!
Yussef Dayes

Song of the year
Calvin Harris and Ellie Goulding – Miracle
Cassö, Raye and D-Block Europe – Prada
Central Cee – Let Go
Central Cee and Dave – Sprinter
Dua Lipa – Dance the Night
Ed Sheeran – Eyes Closed
J Hus – Who Told You
Kenya Grace – Strangers
Lewis Capaldi – Wish You the Best
PinkPantheress – Boy’s a Liar
Raye – Escapism – WINNER!
Rudimental, Charlotte Plank and Vibe Chemistry – Dancing Is Healing
Stormzy and Debbie – Firebabe
Switch Disco and Ella Henderson – React
Venbee and Goddard – Messy in Heaven

Prices of garri, rice record more than 50% increase in Enugu
Photos: Party supporters welcome APC gov candidate, Gawuna back to Kano
NLC writes FG, dismisses claims of 80% agreement fulfilment
International artist
Burna Boy
Caroline Polachek
Kylie Minogue
Lana Del Rey
Miley Cyrus
Olivia Rodrigo
Taylor Swift

International group
Boygenius – WINNER!
Foo Fighters

International song
Billie Eilish – What Was I Made For
David Kushner – Daylight
Doja Cat – Paint the Town Red
Jazzy – Giving Me
Libianca – People
Meghan Trainor – Made You Look
Miley Cyrus – Flowers – WINNER!
Noah Kahan – Stick Season
Robin Schulz and Oliver Tree – Miss You
Olivia Rodrigo – Vampire
Peggy Gou – (It Goes Like) Nanana
Rema – Calm Down
SZA – Kill Bill
Tate McRae – Greedy
Tyla – Water

Rock/alternative act
Bring Me the Horizon – WINNER!
The Rolling Stones
Young Fathers
Yussef Dayes

Hip-hop/grime/rap act
Casisdead – WINNER!
Central Cee
J Hus
Little Simz

Dance act

Barry Can’t Swim
Becky Hill
Calvin Harris – WINNER!
Fred Again

Pop act
Calvin Harris
Charli XCX
Dua Lipa – WINNER!
Olivia Dean